Serving the Maryland Soccer Community since 1924



Maryland to Host Championship of Regions

Winners from Regions I, II & III Play for Titles

Yinz & Bays among those competing in national event. (16 July) The finale of the 2019 cup season is the Championship of Regions with teams from Region I, Region II & Region III competing for three titles. Region I and the Maryland State Soccer Association will host the event at Troy Park in Elkridge, Maryland on 16 & 17 August.

Friday will feature the semifinals with Yinz United hosting ASC New Stars of Region III (Texas South) in the Werner Fricker Cup, the Amateur Open Championship. The other semifinal will see Region I champion Lansdowne Yonkers FC of Eastern New York against the yet to be determined winner from Region II.

The Maryland Bays will battle for the Gerhard Mengel Cup, the Over-30 Championship, as it goes up against Nashville United FC of Region III (Tennessee), which won the Cup last season. The Region I winner Pancyprian Freedom O30 of Eastern New York will meet the Region II entry.

The third title will be the National Over-40 Cup with Region I champion West Chester United of Eastern Pennsylvania facing the Region II champion while Region I finalist Fairfield GAC FC of Connecticut squares off against defending national champion Kickers FC O40 of Region III (Florida).

Schedules & updates can be found at the Region I site.

Player Registration

Players should use the proper link to register for their team to play in the MSSA Cups. Only for use by players not currently registered with a team. For players whose teams are playing in multiple cups, only register once for one cup. MSSA will multi-roster the player as appropriate. The registration fee is $12 and can be paid online by credit card. Submit a head shot/selfie as the photo. Do not upload driver's license.

O40 Player Registration

Team Registration for 2019 Cup Teams

The Stewart Cup along with the Maryland Over-30 and Maryland Over-40 Cups qualify the Maryland champion for the USASA Region I qualifiers. The Stewart winner will compete for the Amateur Cup for the Fritz Marth Trophy, the O-30 champion will advance to the Gerhard Mengel Cup, the National Over-30 Championship, while the O-40 qualifies for the National Over-40 Cup. The Morton Cup is a state only competition that is open to non-MSSA affiliated teams. 

Morton Cup Registration 30/40 Cup Registration
  1. Academy FC
  2. Baltimore United FC
  3. Christos FC
  4. Columbia FC
  5. Fighting B.O.B.s
  6. Izee Auto FC
  7. JA Raiders
  8. Motorik FC Alexandria
  9. Starliners FC
  10. World Class Premier Elite
  11. Yinz United
  1. Baltimore Kickers
  2. Banfield
  3. Blue Side FC
  4. Colombia FC
  5. DC Flames
  6. Ferro Carril Oeste
  7. Fortitude FC
  8. Old Baltimore Footballers
  9. Steel Pulse FC
  10. The Referees

  1. Baltimore Kickers (O30 & O40)
  2. Christos FC (O30 & O40)
  3. Colombia FC (O30)
  4. Mando Ramos (O40)
  5. Maryland Bays (O30)

The Rowland Cup this season will be a state championship among our three MSSA affiliated leagues. Each league selected the teams that will participate for the competition. The winner will advance to the USASA Region I qualifier for the Werner Fricker Cup, the Amateur Open Championship. Below are the teams selected. 

Maryland Major Soccer League

  1. Christos FC
  2. World Class Premier
  3. Academy FC
  4. Izee Auto FC
  5. JA Raiders FC
  6. Steel Pulse FC
  7. Columbia FC
  8. Baltimore Kickers

Mason-Dixon Soccer League

  1. Blue Side FC

Washington Premier League

  1. Yinz United
  2. Fighting B.O.B.s
  3. Capital City
  4. Starliners FC
  5. Aegean Hawks FC


US Open Cup
1940 - Baltimore SC
Werner Fricker US Open Cup
2005 - Baltimore Colts
2014 - Maryland Bays
US Amateur Cup
1969 - British Lions SC
Gerhard Mengel US Over-30 Cup
2012 - Christos FC O-30
2013 - Christos FC O-30
2014 - Christos FC O-30
US Under-23 Cup
2002 - Baltimore Bays


Upcoming Schedule
  • 16 Aug - Semifinals - Championship of Regions
    Troy Park, Elkridge
  • 17 Aug - Finals -  Championship of Regions
    Troy Park, Elkridge
  • Mid-October - Registration opens for 2020 Cups

Cup Links


2018 MSSA Cups 



Maryland National Champions 

National Challenge Cup
(US Open Cup)

1940 - Baltimore SC

Werner Fricker Cup
National Amateur Open Champion

2005 - Baltimore Colts
2014 - Maryland Bays
2016 - Christos FC
2018 - Christos FC

US Amateur Cup

1969 - British Lions SC
2016 - Christos FC

Gerhard Mengel Cup
National Over-30 Champion

2012 - Christos FC O-30
2013 - Christos FC O-30
2014 - Christos FC O-30

US Under-23 Cup

2002 - Baltimore Bays






Still Getting Our Kicks! 
Copyright Maryland State Soccer Association. All Rights Reserved.